Dark Nebula: Subsectors

Posted: 16 July 2015 in Settings
Tags: , , ,

Here’s another map for you. Several factors came together to trigger its creation:

  • I generate worlds for this campaign half a dozen or so at a time, because as I add something to the description for world A, it naturally triggers thoughts about world B as well, which then provokes a thought about world C, which in turn expands my picture of world A, and so on.
  • The Dark Nebula boardgame, with its modular map pieces, naturally divides the worlds up into such groups. I’m not sure if that’s why I think of the worlds in those clusters, but doing so has been a big help in working them out, so I recommend it.
  • I don’t want to devote 40-odd posts to world descriptions, most of which would be spoilers for my group – and I think at least one of them is following the blog.

So I decided to give you one post for each of the eight map tiles in the boardgame, with spoiler-free world descriptions. While I was drawing on the larger-scale grid and labelling the tiles, I made a few other changes:

  • I got rid of the hex grid, which no longer serves any purpose.
  • I made every hyperspace route leading off the map an uncharted one, to signal to the players that they are supposed to stay on the map, at least for now. If they’re that keen to go off-piste, they’ll have to find some old Mandate drill routes.
  • I built a key into the map itself so that I don’t have to add one in Word, Paint or whatever.

Without further ado, then, here is the latest map:

dn08sub

I really do like this map. And I am starting to feel quite at home in Hexographer, which is what I used to draw it.

Comments
  1. andyslack says:

    Oh, and I also dropped the different symbols for faction capitals and other kinds of primary worlds. Instead I put the capital world names in CAPITAL LETTERS. See what I did there? 😉

Leave a Reply

