Long-Range Planning

Posted: 4 March 2015 in Reflections

"I’ve felt the cold hand of my own mortality." – Frank Herbert, Dune

The events of the last couple of years have shown me that the end of my gaming career is now in sight, like it or not. Considering how the previous generation got on, and the plans people have already discussed with me, in big handfuls the future looks like this…

FUTURE HISTORY

2015-2025: I’ll still be at work, still playing every few weeks with my WFRP3 buddies (who will change game systems at least twice during that time), and gamemastering for the Shadows of Keron players every few months – most likely Beasts & Barbarians, but maybe something else.

Things to do:

  • Solo gaming – ten years of campaigns lasting six months each is 20 games; in reality I expect not many will be renewed for a second season, so I expect to exit this period still playing no more than a couple of them, having got the others out of my system.
  • Group gaming – ten years of (say) one session every three months is 40 sessions. Realistically, that is no more than another two campaigns at best; I’ll have to think long and hard before changing setting again.
  • Learn how to paint figures properly, while I still have eyes and hands good enough for it. If I assume one figure per month over that period on average, it’ll still be over a hundred; that should be enough to get me up to tabletop standard.
  • Sort out online gaming via Roll20, Google Hangouts and whatnot.

2025-2035: I’ll be retired, but still reasonably fit and healthy. The WFRP3 group’s regular GM will retire to France – either one of the others, possibly me, will take over as GM, or the group will break up at that point. However, my grandchildren will be in the 8-12 age range and ready to start playing, which will be great fun; especially if their parents join in too. I can hope for a face to face game every few weeks, but realistically every couple of months is more likely.

Things to do:

  • Teach grandchildren the joy of roleplaying. It would be remiss of me not to equip them with basic D&D skills as part of this, as if they carry on playing, that is what they’re most likely to encounter. It would be equally remiss to limit them to that.

2035-2045: This part is unlikely to be much fun; I’ll probably still be mentally active, but physically things start to look dodgy. The children will be the age I am now, the grandchildren leaving home to live their own lives; roleplaying with a decrepit grognard will not be a big part of those lives.

Things to do:

  • Get myself digitally uploaded into cyberspace. A destructive read will be fine by this point.

REFLECTIONS

That’s not so bad, is it? Just as well; I suspect there’s not much I can do about it.

The lesson to take away? You’ve got less gaming time left than you think. Make it count. Don’t waste it on anything less than the best, whatever that is for you.

"To suspect your own mortality is to know the beginning of terror; to learn irrefutably that you are mortal is to know the end of terror." – Frank Herbert, Dune

Comments
  1. Umberto Pignatelli says:

    Well, if you retire to Italy, near Turin, I am pretty sure we can find a place for you in our gaming group. If you like to play an halfling bard, of course :).

Leave a Reply

