Watershed

“What is that feeling when you’re driving away from people and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? – it’s the too-huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”  – Jack Kerouac, On the Road

2014 has been a watershed year for me, and my blog is changing as a result.

First, there have been a number of fatal and near-fatal incidents amongst kith and kin. The Grim Reaper isn’t exactly knocking on my door, but he’s definitely in the neighbourhood, and we’ll be tidying up after him for a few years yet. Time feels more scarce and precious than ever now.

Second, with the youngest of my children now at university, my life is moving into its third act, and with the group now scattered to the four winds, it feels like a good time to make a change.

Third, looking back on my posts over the last six years, there are not many with lasting value. And that’s okay; gaming is a performance art, an ephemeral and transient thing. So I’ll work through the blog over the next few weeks, editing and culling.

Where is all this heading? The first and second points encourage a drive to fewer, simpler games, and thence to the third point, culling the blog to reflect that sharpened focus. However grim and hectic things have been, I’ve still made time for Savage Worlds, so that obviously stays, along with its most inspirational setting Beasts & Barbarians; as for the rest of ‘em, I really don’t know at this point.

“I’ve bought meself a moped; I’ve made meself some sandwiches. Let’s see what’s out there, shall we?”  – Alexei Sayle’s Stuff

3 thoughts on “Watershed

  1. Hey, Andy.
    Just wanted to say welcome back. I, for one, have missed your blog postings. I hope things aren’t too bad. As you say the ratchet action of life continues – as one person disappears off the top of the conveyor belt of life we all move up a step closer ourselves.
    With regards to the blog I hope you don’t cull older stuff. It really is a pleasure to go back through your postings. I still miss the old Halfway Station too. You culled that so I had to chase and beg you for some of your great files.
    I do hope you keep on with All Things Zombie/Dead as you were my inspiration for buying and playing it in the wilds of central Taiwan, looking in the mirror and seeing Billy “No-Mates” smiling back. No Trumpton or Camberwick Green for me but, following on from your inspiration, what could be better than a group of survivors who bear an uncany resemblance to England football players (past and present)! “Oh no! They’ve bitten off more than they can chew now. Rooney’s looking very angry!” Keep going, Andy. You’re a legend in your own lunchtime. Good luck and God bless.

  2. Thanks Wintermute, I appreciate your encouragement – I could do with some right now! I’ve just reached the age where this stuff starts happening, nothing more than that.

    It is certainly less work not to cull anything from the blog, so maybe I’ll just leave it be and drive on. I can’t edit real life, after all, and when I do throw out physical objects I often regret it later. Perhaps I’ll smarten it up a bit with some new categories and a new theme, let’s see if that assuages any urges to spring cleaning!

  3. Wot, I didn’t need to scan my 15 year old printouts of the League of Independent Worlds notes before they succumbed to coffee stains

Leave a Reply

