Top Five of 2013

Of all the things I’ve reviewed in 2013, these are the ones I think are the best… You probably guessed that from the title, but stick with me, it gets better.

  1. Binder Maps – Intimate Encounters. A cheap, simple product with a dozen or so generic battlemaps. This comes at the top of the list because the group starting using it before I’d finished printing it out!
  2. Warhammer Quest for iPad. Why can’t I stop playing this? Because I’m weak, I suppose. Solo dungeon crawling without the fuss of figures, battlemats or dice.
  3. 13th Age. I’ll quote Greywulf again; “13th Age is what D&D’s child would be if D&D got really drunk one night and slept with a hot indie game.” Nailed it there, Greywulf, if you’ll pardon the pun.
  4. Scavenger Fleets for Stars Without Number. Are they traders? Are they pirates? Hey, why does it have to be one or the other?
  5. Finally, in joint 5th place, True20 (which is what I used to play before Savage Worlds) and the High-Space setting for Savage Worlds.

So I suppose this is actually a top six. There you go, bonus content.

Leave a Reply

