Parking Orbit

“You might think that the first step in starting a new game is finding a group of people to play with. That is important, but that’s your next step. Your first step is to get yourself excited. Do that and you’ll likely get all your friends excited as well.” – Savage Worlds

The Free Traders campaign looks like it will not be used after all, which is a bit sad, but means I feel pretty smug for not having put that much effort into it.

There are several reasons for this outcome.

Attrition

I’m looking at the future of the group, and numbers are perilously low. The current gaming group started with 10 members, and surged to 12; but of these, 9 have dropped out over the last 18 months, as some move away and others shift their priorities elsewhere. Of the three remaining, I think there’s a fair chance that 1-3 of them will drop out over the coming year, which will leave me with anywhere from two players to none. Some recruiting is called for in 2014, I think.

Other GMs take note; your current players are transient. Consider recruiting.

Duration

Supposing for the moment that the group only hangs together for another 12 months, with the current rate of two sessions per month, half of which are used for Tenchi’s Shadowrun game, there are only another 10-12 sessions left for the group. It seems more sensible to extend Shadows of Keron than start up a new campaign.

Motivation

Although I’ve preferred science fiction to fantasy for as long as I can remember, I just can’t motivate myself to run an SF game at the moment. I have no problem coming up with scenario ideas, but they are all for fantasy – I blame Beasts & Barbarians, which has refreshed my jaded gaming palette.

Partly this is because the kind of 1950s-1970s SF that Classic Traveller emulated so well no longer seems credible to me, and the transhumanist nanotech SF that currently seems credible doesn’t interest me as a campaign setting. Partly it’s because my focus as a GM has shifted away from gadgets towards characters, which are largely setting-independent. Partly it’s because fantasy settings have less of a learning curve for players.

(One useful side effect of staying focussed on fantasy would be that a much wider range of pre-painted figures is available. It’s becoming increasingly difficult to find the time to paint figures, and my deteriorating eyesight means they don’t look that good any more when I do.)

Donation

So, Free Traders inserts itself into a parking orbit around Halfway Station. If you can make use of it, do so with my blessing.

Leave a Reply

