Nostalgia

I came to a disappointing conclusion today. It happened like this…

I wanted to set up a nice capstone adventure for the party’s arrival in Gis, something involving alchemists and a murder mystery. After mulling this over for a while, I thought an old favourite might do the trick: The Halls of Tizun Thane, which in my mind at least was the finest OD&D adventure ever written. Dragging out my copy of White Dwarf 18, I started reading and taking notes.

There’s still a good plot line in there, but I came to the sad realisation that the quality of adventures has moved on since the late 1970s/early 1980s, or maybe my tastes have just changed – I am 30 years older now, and books, games and movies which thrilled me back then no longer do so.

Plus, I remembered that several of the players have already gone through that particular scenario, and could easily remember it.

So, regretfully, WD18 goes back on the shelf, and I resolve that I shall leave my fond memories of adventures like Tizun Thane, Alien Base and Twilight’s Peak as just that, and seek inspiration elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

