Scoutships Without Number

Posted: 10 January 2012 in Stars Without Number

I thought I should stat out the Dolphin under Stars Without Number, and here she is. I’ve used the SWN stats to work out some SW ones as well, because I’m not sure which rules I’d use for space combat, should it occur.

SCOUTSHIP

Power: 10/5 free. Mass: 15/4 free.

Cost: 2,820,000. Hit Points: 20. Crew: 1/10. Speed: 5. Armour: 0. AC: 5.

Weaponry: None.

Defences: None.

Fittings: Spike Drive-3; Atmospheric Configuration, Fuel Scoops (both integral to courier hull); Cargo Lighter, Cargo Space (3 tons), Cold Sleep Pods, Fuel Bunker, Ship’s Locker.

The scoutship is a modified Naval Courier (Skyward Steel p. 46), intended for long-range exploration and courier duties. It is unarmed, relying on its speed and high spike drive rating to evade combat.

Savage Worlds: Acc/TS 70/800, Toughness 16 (4), Crew 1+9, Cost $28M. Notes: Climb-3. (I’m assuming that SW performance is basically like a space shuttle.)

AI

The Dolphin is controlled by a braked AI, working off its debt as a Scout Service ship. This is built using the AI rules in chapter 12 of SWN Core Edition.

I start with the standard Tolerance score of 20, and decide to reserve 5 for armatures, which is enough for any of them. I spend 13 points to buy Int 14, Wis 14 and Cha 12. A further point buys the Basic skills package, and one extra package – Pilot. This leaves me with 6 points; I’ve noticed in using the SWN point buy character system that it is often difficult to use up the last point, and use the last free point to buy an increased saving throw progression of +1 per 3 levels.

As the Dolphin normally wears a starship, I pick a Squawkbox armature to begin with, which costs no Tolerance. I’d like to merge the two Vehicle skills to give it Vehicle/Space-1, but since you can’t do that with skills from the same package, I use the Vehicle/Any skill for Vehicle/Grav, the Culture/World skill for Culture/Homeworld, and allocate the Combat/Any skill as Combat/Unarmed (still usable whatever weapons have been taken away from you).

Str 3, Dex 7, Con 3, Int 14, Wis 14, Cha 12. Level 1 AI. HP 4, AC 6, AB +0, Saves 15.

Skills: Combat/Gunnery, Combat/Unarmed, Computer, Culture/Homeworld, Culture/Spacer, Navigation, Tech/Astronautics, Tech/Postech, Tech/Pretech, Vehicle/Grav, Vehicle/Space.

Weapons/Armour: None. Armature costs Cr 500.

Savage Worlds: Ag d4, Sm d8, Sp d8, St d4, Vi d4. Pace 6, Parry 4, Toughness 4, Charisma 0. Fighting d6, Knowledge/Astrogation d6, Piloting d6, Repair d6, Shooting d6.

REPAIR SWARM

The Dolphin‘s repair swarm is composed of bots based on Squawkbox armatures, each with an expert system granting them +0 on anything relating to repairing the ship. They’re good enough to do routine maintenance, but if anything is seriously damaged, Arion or the Dolphin need to get involved.

AC: 6. HD: 1 (4 HP). AB: +0. Cost: Cr 1,000. No. Appearing: 1d6. Saving Throw: 15. Move: 30′. Morale: 12. Skill Bonus: +0.

Savage Worlds: In SW, I’ll just use the standard statistics for a swarm.

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    Just wanted to say I really enjoy reading your blog. I have been doing a lot of solo gaming lately and have also been interested in trying Traveller which I never played when I was younger (My gaming group played Star Frontiers). Anyways, your blog and and LTL Dad’s blog have inspired me to start my own blog, talking about my own experiences learning these games and trying to weave in a story along with it. I had already been playing Better of Zed and had bought Traveller but now, thanks to you, I am giving Savage Worlds a try as well. šŸ™‚ Anyways, I look forward to the continuation of your Arioniad and 28 Months later stories. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

