Irongrave Maps – Take 2

Just as the professional photographer takes many pictures, and selects a few for display, the GM tries many different ideas before exposing them to the players. At least, that’s how it works for me.

For most of the week I’ve been wondering if I actually need overland maps, but at least two of the players have expressed a desire for outdoor scenarios, so I guess I do. I had a brief flirtation with the idea of the six mile hex, but in the end I stayed with the more traditional 5 miles. Maybe the subhexes are six miles across, that would make the larger scale map a better match to reality.

I’ve tightened up and redrawn the maps, and now they look like this:

THE BARONY OF IRONGRAVE

The five-miles-per-hex version has been adjusted to better match the 25-miles-per-hex one; that makes Stonebridge superfluous, so it has gone, as have the Shrine of St Veronica and Minewatch Keep, neither of which is central to the concept.

Irongrave02

CAMBER AND LOGRIS

I wonder if Roger Zelazny used the same source of inspiration for the Amber novels? Anyway… The change in the larger scale map is to shift the course of the River Hafren, to better reflect the geography of the area I’m basing Irongrave on – I don’t know enough geography to mess with it and get a realistic outcome.

Logris02

Leave a Reply

