Dice, Dice, Baby

I haven’t discarded my intention of limiting myself to Savage Worlds and All Things Zombie just yet, because these were a Christmas present from one of my daughters and her husband; a set of Dungeonmorph Dice from Inkwell Ideas, price unknown.

What you get are five dice with a key on a small piece of paper. The text is on the edge of eyestraining unreadability for me, but someone a few decades younger might manage it; meanwhile, I’ll scan the blighter and magnify it.

dmdice

A bit blurry, but actually a good representation of what they look like with my unaided eyesight.

The dice are about 23mm on a side, and each side has a black on white dungeon geomorph, 10 x 10 squares in size; a number, presumably so you can use them as regular dice as well; and a letter, which tells you what general kind of area that face represents. Then there are a number of symbols on each face, which the map key explains; traps, architectural features, that kind of thing. You’ve probably worked out by now that this Explorer’s Set has 30 geomorphs, and there are other sets which can expand that number.

At 5’ per square, each geomorph is 50’ x 50’; at 10’ per square, obviously 100’ x 100’. The random throw above has about 45 encounter areas in it, and I could see myself transferring the throw onto some graph paper, throwing again, expanding the dungeon, and just carrying on until I got bored. Or, more likely, taking a picture and adding the new sections in an image editor – if indeed I need to do that, I could revert to my usual London Underground map for the big level map and throw four dice for each station for the detail.

This is a clever idea, well executed; there are a number of RPGs in my collection with random monster tables but no random dungeon generator (OD&D, I’m lookin’ at you). I personally will need a magnifying glass to use them, but that’s my eyesight; the alternative would be to make the dice bigger, and they are already about as big as they can be and still be throwable as a group.

Rating: 4 out of 5 – will probably see use at some point.

One thought on “Dice, Dice, Baby

  1. Very Cool. I have not seen or heard of anything like this. Thanks for posting.

    Cheers, Dale

    >________________________________ > From: Halfway Station >To: pineappleleader@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, January 8, 2014 2:29 PM >Subject: [New post] Dice, Dice, Baby > > > > WordPress.com >andyslack posted: “I haven’t discarded my intention of limiting myself to Savage Worlds and All Things Zombie just yet, because these were a Christmas present from one of my daughters and her husband; a set of Dungeonmorph Dice from Inkwell Ideas, price unknown. What you g” >

Leave a Reply

