Laziness and One-Sheets

Setting chosen and matched up, I turn my attention to scenarios and adventures.

As an overall storyline, I think I’ll send the party on a quest from their current employer (the Minewatch paladins) to deliver the Holy Handkerchief to the fabled city of Gis, where they must deliver it to the master alchemist known only as the Ninth of Twelve. Experience teaches me that by the time they’ve got there, they will have forgotten about the city they set off from, and it can be quietly retired. The route will take them from the Independent Cities, through Kyros, Syranthia, Faberterra and the Borderlands, before arriving at Gis; based on the WHAA strategic move system, that’s about two years’ travel in game time.

The sort of episodic play we manage to fit in these days lends itself well to One-Sheets, the short tryout and convention scenarios Pinnacle makes freely available on its website. A quick snarf there yields me some 30 scenarios, plus I have four in the SWDE rulebook, one in the B&B book, and three free One-Sheets to go with the B&B setting. Scanning through those over the course of an evening, I think I can repurpose all the B&B, Solomon Kane, and Rippers One-Sheets, and most of the Deadlands or SWDE ones. The rest I set aside for future campaigns.

That gives me about 20 to run with before I need to start writing any; looking at my players’ commitments and my own over the coming year, we will have somewhere between 12 and 20 sessions depending on what crops up, so that will keep me going through the rest of this year, and probably into next year as well. I’ll start with The Carnival at Nal Sagath, I think, because I want to see how the dungeon generator works with players.

2 thoughts on “Laziness and One-Sheets

    • I ran it today, in fact, and we all had fun. More details in my next post, probably tomorrow when I’ve had time to reflect on what I learned.

Leave a Reply

