Archetypes in Action – 1

A brief digression from Deep Black into Archetypes, one of my favourite features of Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition. I’m having a lot of fun playing with these, and here’s the first set – the crew of the Dolphin as SW archetypes. I like these so much I’ll probably swap them for the current incarnations.

  • Arion: Pilot archetype, using the extra skill point to buy Knowledge (Astrogation) d4, with Hindrances of Heroic, Loyal: Friends, and Outsider (scouts are scruffy and insubordinate).
  • Coriander: There isn’t a Psion archetype, so I used the “Face”, swapping the Strong Will Edge for Arcane Background (Psionics) and Taunt for Psionics. Her powers are Boost/Lower Trait, Healing, and Mind Reading, and her Hindrances are Clueless (she grew up on a Lost World), Loyal: Friends and Wanted (psions are classed as criminals on some planets).
  • Dmitri: The Investigator archetype, with Hindrances of Curious, Loyal: Friends, and Wanted (by rival espionage agencies).

It’s an extremely fast and easy way of building characters. The only thing to watch out for is that the bonuses from Edges aren’t applied to the archetypes’ skills in the book.

Of the 16 archetypes listed in the book, 9 are applicable to any setting as they stand, three really only work in a fantasy setting, and four are aimed at a modern or SF setting. However, by swapping around a couple of skills and edges, even those can be used elsewhere.

4 thoughts on “Archetypes in Action – 1

  1. Hi,

    Apologies for the off-topic comment, but I couldn’t find a contact email for you.

    I’ve recently put out an ebook of my writing, called ‘The New Death and others’. It’s mostly short stories, with some obvious gamer-interest material. For example I have a story inspired by OD&D elves, as well as poems which retell Robert E Howard’s King Kull story ‘The Mirrors of Tuzun Thune’ and HP Lovecraft’s ‘Under the Pyramids’.

    I was wondering if you’d be interested in doing a review on your blog.

    If so, please let me know your email, and what file format is easiest for you, and I’ll send you a free copy. You can email me (news@apolitical.info) or reply to this thread.

    You can download samples from the ebook’s page on Smashwords:

    http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/92126

    I’ll also link to your review from my blog.

    Yours,
    James.

Leave a Reply

