Talomir Nights – the House Rule

My players have been known to complain that I’m so fond of house rules, they never play the same game twice. Even though part of the fun for me is tweaking the rules, I have tried to rein that impulse in over recent years, mostly to avoid that complaint, but also so that I’m sure I understand the rules before I change them.

However, I’ve reached the point with Warrior Heroes that I want to make a change, and since I play it solo, no-one can stop me! I’m changing the rule for generating the opposition so that it’s based on the number of figures in my party, not their CV. That brings it into line with most other THW rules sets.

Why? Well, my party will probably stabilise at 4-6 figures, because that’s the size of troupe I prefer to play. If I use the standard THW encounter rules, this will mean opposition of half to twice my numbers, namely 2-12 enemy figures.

If I stay with the Rules As Written, opposing forces will be based on my party’s Combat Value. Over time, I think the advancement rules mean this will stabilise at about 10 for each figure in my force, giving me a total CV of about 50 for a party of five. That would mean the enemies would be 25-100 CV in total, and since they have a CV of 1-2 per figure, I would be facing off against 12-100 figures. That moves away from the skirmish gaming I prefer; and most games would consist of the five man band moving onto the table, not liking what it sees, and moving off again.

3 thoughts on “Talomir Nights – the House Rule

  1. “That would mean the enemies would be 25-100 CV in total, and since they have a CV of 1-2 per figure, I would be facing off against 12-100 figures. That moves away from the skirmish gaming I prefer; and most games would consist of the five man band moving onto the table, not liking what it sees, and moving off again.”

    I came to the same conclusion. I’m interested in any house rule you have to prevent this.

  2. Like I say, I’m using number of figures instead of CV. It’s what most THW games do, so it should work. I’ll know in a couple of games’ time.

  3. Oh… I see what you mean now.

    I would probably do the same but still roll for the antagonist CV, then improve it (changing Rep, Hardiness, armor…) if the resulting enemy force given only by “number figures” is “too weak”.

    More complicated but allows for more interesting games I suppose.

Leave a Reply

